Menu with CSS3

2018 Titusville Sea Turtle Festival

8th Annual Titusville
Sea Turtle Festival

June 8 & 9, 2018
Fri: 4:00pm - 9:00pm • Sat: 9:00am - 4:00pm

Downtown Titusville, Florida
& Canaveral National Seashore

Youth Art Contest

Youth Art Contest at the 2018 Titusville Sea Turtle Festival
Click to print & share this flyer.

** 2018 Competition Rules **

All young people grades K-8 (Ages 5-14) are invited to create a sea turtle inspired work of art for the Titusville Sea Turtle Festival's Youth Art Competition. The theme is "Baby Sea Turtles."
Deadline: Monday, June 4th, 2018
Hand deliver or mail artwork to The Downtown Art Gallery on or before Monday, June 4th by 5:00pm.

7th Annual Titusville Sea Turtle Festival
Youth Art Competition Winners

The Downtown Art Gallery is pleased to announce the winners of the  7th Annual Titusville Sea Turtle Festival Youth Art Competition. Artwork was on display at the Downtown Art Gallery June 9-17, 2017. Of the 92 terrific entries, winners were selected on creativity, composition and technique with the theme "Protecting Sea Turtle Habitat" by a jury of two judges with extensive art backgrounds. 

Best Depiction of Theme Award for all age groups went to Brianna Fontaine for her sculpture titled "Do Not Litter. Save the Sea Turtles." Judges comments, "powerful statement on trash in our modern day environment."

The Downtown Art Gallery awarded one young artist the Award of Destinction for her use of materials with different textures, sky, sun, sand, beach, eggs, turtle, captures the essence of sea turtle life on our beautiful Playalinda Beach/Canaveral National Seashore.

Group 1 - K-1st grades:
1st- Dalton Dokos
2nd- Rylie Hobart
3rd- Nico Santos
HM- Ashlyn King

Group 2 - 2nd-3rd grades:
1st- Ashlyn Hobart
2nd- Leyton Beville
3rd- Sariah Fernandez
HM- Samantha Baker
HM- Matthew Carpenter

Group 3 - 4th-6th grades:
1st- Alexis Royce
2nd- Delilah Charvet
3rd- Jenna Schurlknight
HM- Jackie Cooper
HM- Keenan Hennis
HM- Amira Dublin
HM- Landon Spaulding

Group 4 - 7th-8th grades:
1st- Rachel Willis
2nd- Abby Compton
3rd- Matilda Collins
HM- Maya Couyer

All weekend festival goers were asked to vote on their favorite in all age groups for the People's Choice Award. Votes were tallied and Liam Earle was presented with this award. Congratulations to all the winners and participants who entered! 

All of the winners received ribbons and Canaveral National Seashore backpacks packed full of prizes donated by generous area businesses.

Alaysia Fernandez, pictured with Heidi Thamert of The Downtown Art Gallery. 

 The Downtown Art Gallery's Award of Distinction was presented to Alaysia Fernandez,
pictured with Heidi Thamert of The Downtown Art Gallery. 

The Downtown Art Gallery
335 S. Washington Ave.
Titusville, FL 32796
(321) 268-0122

BACK to the 2017 Sea Turtle Festival homepage